Self Expression

I have had a long term fear of expressing my opinion in general, but especially when it is in disagreement with someone. I have gradually been working through it and have made my voice be heard lately.  Some people probably think I’ve made it be heard too frequently and too loudly. And sometimes I come on too strong or too negatively, so that doesn’t help.

Between finding my voice and my passion for knowledge and sharing of said knowledge, I have upset a few people. But I have also started dialog between a few family members in the area of carefully considering the impact of far right religious views when mixed with politics.  There IS such a thing as too far right, just like too far left can have negative impacts.

This is why I share the things I share. This is why I comment on posts that make no sense.  Some of it is because I want to understand why someone thinks the way he or she does. And some of it is to share my point of view. It is never to convert a person to my way of thinking.  In a balanced conversation, all parties will learn and grow,  even if no one changes their original opinion.

We live in a society where it is considered negative to disagree. I think that I would have agreed with that as recent as a few months ago. I no longer agree with it though. I believe that it has set us back as a country.  Some of us are afraid to speak up, most of us can’t do it in a helpful or well thought out way, and many of us shut others down if they disagree. I’ve had at least 2 family members unfriend me, a high school friend said she’s unfollowing me, and who knows how many have slipped through the cracks unnoticed?

Yet employers are in constant search for good problem solving skills and critical thinkers. How do we build these skills in a world that is too scared to disagree? Or too worried about being politically correct?  Or too prone to join in verbal combat instead of discussion with a focus on understanding. Or just not willing to hear opposition.

I struggle finding balance, but if you are a person I know face-to-face, please understand what I’m saying here. And please feel free to reach out to me with questions or concerns.

Leave a Reply

