Shame? Not Me!

A coworker who knows some of my personal background and how much stress I’ve dealt with over the years asked me if I am a church goer.  I simply said “no” to begin with, hoping he’d just drop it.  Well, he didn’t.  He suggested that I might find a lot of support from church.  I’m sure that is true, but it is not for me.  I said I’m totally NOT a church person.

He actually said “oh, shame on you.”

R E A L L Y!

I feel no shame in the fact that I don’t go to church.  I would feel shame – on the other hand – if I were to go and fake it the whole time.  I would feel shame that I let other people’s beliefs direct my behavior.

If it works for you, great.  I support you and will not try to change your mind.

It doesn’t work for me, so don’t try to change my mind, in the guise of saving me.  And especially don’t try to assign shame to me because I don’t believe like you do.

2 thoughts on “Shame? Not Me!”

  1. Good for you. Organized religion can be great for some, but I have found much more spirituality in life without the church. I was exposed to much of the hypocritical behavior throughout my childhood, not to mention the unnecessary guilt. Do what your heart tells you, nobody needs a church to be spiritual, kind or a good person in any way. I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

