Developing Me!

I’ve passed the mid-way point of my 40s, was asked for a divorce after 20+ years of marriage, and realized I have no friends and no hobbies.  So this is the year of “me!”

I’ve always wanted to try hiking.  I went for a nice (not really) long hike last Sunday and only took me, myself, and I – oh – and my camera which is another new hobby!  I was looking for a nice overlook to the Missouri River and I found it.  I’m looking forward to going back when things are turning green.  And I had a very interesting experience viewing this hawk flying around overhead.  There must have been a nest nearby.

DSC_0512

20150308_154510

So, why did I say it wasn’t really a nice walk?  I’ve always wanted to hike the trails in the area and I have discovered that I really do like it, especially with my camera along.  But this hike was more challenging than I’m used to AND was quite muddy for well over half of my hike.  Here’s my shoes!

20150308_180342

I intended to hike about 5, maybe 6 miles at a casual pace.  There’s 2 main trails where I went.  One was 8 miles and one 5 miles and they overlap and have unmarked trails that criss cross all over the place.  I got lost and I think I hiked about 10 to 12 miles.  I was sore and achy (fell on my butt and slid a ways in the mud), thirsty (didn’t bring water), hungry, and had to pee.  I cried tears of joy when I reached the parking lot at 6:30 PM and was thankful that daylight savings had started or I’d have been getting back in the dark.

Anyway, I’ve decided that I need real hiking boots because I intend to hike more trails, but with better planning!

2 thoughts on “Developing Me!”

  1. Good for you for getting out there…I love that you’re reinventing yourself! It sounds like you might need a little direction getting started though. I wrote a three part quick guide for disabled hikers, but it will work for new trekkers who aren’t sure how to tackle solo trekking. You need gear and a few safety tips, and then the whole world will open up to you. I hope you don’t mind me posting this link here…feel free not to publish it if it makes you uncomfortable.

    https://thereisnorainasd.wordpress.com/2015/01/22/guide-to-disabled-hiking-part-i-the-basics-safety/

Leave a Reply

