Conflict – Run away!!!

ArgueIn response to Showdown at Big Sky.

How do you handle conflict? Boldly and directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach?

I’ve been working on this one, actually.  My instinct is to run away as fast as I can.  If I can’t run, then instinct tells me to fight quick & dirty to get what I want.  If I feel threatened – I cry!

Does that work?

No!

I still avoid conflict, but I’ve been working on confronting it head on in a positive way.

#1 – I always assume there is conflict even when there is none.  I’ve been working on clarifying with people on my perceptions before I get all riled up about nothing.

#2 – I try to take an approach that helps me to understand where the other person is coming from.  Sometimes it is just a matter of us not understanding each other’s position.

#3 – I try to be flexible.  I don’t need to win – I just need to feel comfortable with the outcome.  Give a little – take a little.

 

Leave a Reply

