I Hate to Bother You, But…

“I hate to bother you, but I have something important to ask,” said the stranger as she tapped me on the shoulder. I turned to take a look at the woman who startled me so badly that I almost dropped the box of cereal I was evaluating for purchase.

“How can I help you?” I asked her, dreading that she would waste my precious time. I needed to finish getting groceries so that I could rush home to fix dinner, eat, and rush the boys to music lessons. After music lessons there was a huge pile of laundry to be sorted. I hate doing laundry!

“I am a market analyst for some very unique and interesting products and wonder if I could share some information with you,” she told me. I wanted to simply tell her thanks, but no thanks. But her demeanor was intriguing. She had my interest, even though I didn’t want her to have it.

“I’m not really interested,” I lied. She knew I was lying and plowed on with some high level product descriptions. She described some very futuristic appliances and machines that could help save people time and allow more time for relaxation.

I was even more intrigued when she described the laundry system. Laundry is so exhausting and just the other night I had teased my kids that they needed to invent a laundry machine that would do the whole job, from gathering to hanging / folding. A visiting friend jokingly stated that that is what kids are for.

How could technology advanced so far without the knowledge of the general public? How could there be a machine that could do laundry from the very start of the job – gathering – all the way to the end of the job – hanging and folding? I needed this machine like nothing I’ve ever needed before.

“Ma’am, I would love to hear more about the laundry system, but I really must rush out of here,” I responded. She must have taken that as a sign that I was losing interest and she became more frantic in her efforts to hook me.

“Ah, the laundry system is one of my favorites,” she indicated. “The system is in final development and will be released for user testing next week. I would love to put your contact information down as a potential tester.”

“Wow, that really would be great,” I exclaimed as I gave her my contact information. I couldn’t wait to get home to tell the family. I felt I had made a very good decision and was about to save us a ton of time and money on laundry.

And that is how I ended up being the proud owner of an Automated Full Cycle Laundry System.

Leave a Reply

