Boldly Enhance My Career

In response to DP – To Boldly Go…

An impending new year gives rise to reflection and goal setting. What will your goals for 2014 be? It’s never to early to start thinking about self improvement!

I think that 2014 will bring about a career related change.  I don’t know what it will look like at this point, but something must happen in that area.

I am an instructional designer.  That means that I analyze training needs, design the training, sometimes develop it, never deliver it (that is someone else’s job), and evaluate effectiveness.  I like doing most of this.

What I don’t like is the environment.  Very large corporation, poor internal communication, too many people who don’t want to be there (including me), and a TON of negativity.  It takes too long to get things done and there is too much resistance to running training like a business (measuring results that are clearly outlined with stakeholders) instead of like an order taker.  We don’t “do training” right here either.  We skip essential steps and short cut others.  It is a BIG ugly mess that only a handful of people are interested in fixing.  Several people resist fixing the mess, while most are indifferent.

What could this career change look like, you ask?  Or maybe you didn’t ask and it was the voice inside my head.  I’ve been thinking about this for a LONG time.  I love learning new things.  My Via Me report calculated that as my highest Signature Strength.  I also have a great deal of interest in helping people.

With those two characteristics in mind, I have been looking into the possibility of becoming a business, executive, or leader coach.  Coaching is becoming more and more in demand and I believe I have a related skill set in my Instructional Design.  I have teaching experience and didn’t really enjoy that, but coaching is very different.  Teaching is telling, explaining, demonstrating, guiding practice, etc.  International Coaching Federation, an coaching standards organization, defines coaching as partnering with clients in a thought-provoking and creative process that inspires them to maximize their personal and professional potential.

Big goal.

9 thoughts on “Boldly Enhance My Career”

  1. I noticed your site’s ranking in google’s search results is very low.
    You are loosing a lot of traffic. You need hi authority backlinks to rank in top ten. I know – buying them is too expensive.
    It’s better to own them. I know how to do that, just google it:

    Polswor’s Backlinks Source

Leave a Reply

