Perspective

In response to Daily Prompt: Perspective.

Think about something that drives you crazy. Now, think about something that makes you happy. Does it change your perspective on the former?

Hmmm – yes.  But it is difficult and doesn’t happen for every 2 thoughts.

This prompt topic seems to have perfect timing.  I am reading The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor.  Very interesting.  But scientific evidence exists that positive feelings make us more productive, more creative, etc.

I have a special needs child. Without the ability to switch to thoughts about something that makes me happy, I would be arrested for throttling my kid.  In this case, it may not work immediately, and I may not even think to consciously choose to switch to happier thoughts.  But I do eventually.  And sometimes the happier thoughts are about him and that is the best way to change my perspective regarding him.

9 thoughts on “Perspective”

  1. I just posted on my blog today about the 3 P’s: permanent positive perspective. I receive The Daily Motivator by Ralph Marston every day in my inbox with a few short paragraphs that help me in my daily life. You might be interested in checking him out.

Leave a Reply

