Exhale – It Really WILL be OK

In response to Daily Prompt: Exhale

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

I have not had one singularly dramatic moment when I knew everything would be OK.  Rather, I have many moments where I force myself to believe that everything will be OK.  It is a slippery slope, my confidence, so up I go and down I slide.  Over the last two years – especially the last one year – I believe I’ve gone UP the slope more than down the slope.

Some of these moments:

  • My boys generally don’t get along – like most siblings.  Knowing this is true of most siblings does not make me better able to accept the fact.  So when older son scooted close to younger son and said “Of course we’ll be OK because we love each other” and then proceeded to hug his brother – I knew it would be OK.
  • My husband and I went through relationship struggles through 2012 and partly into 2013.  When he shows me his big grin and lets his silly side show – I know everything will be OK.
  • When you parent a child with Asperger’s, you need to learn to recognize the small victories that lead to everything being OK.  When he recognizes a characteristic / behavior that he has causes him problems, that means that the first step of resolving the problem is complete.  Recognition / ownership of the problem.
9 thoughts on “Exhale – It Really WILL be OK”

Leave a Reply

