It’s NOT About the Calendar Girl Contest – It’s Motorcycles & Their People

For me anyway.  A few years ago hubby started riding motorcycles and would go to motorcycle events, usually by himself because we didn’t have babysitters and were not really maintaining our relationship.  One event that he went to monthly throughout the riding season was a Calendar Girl Contest at a local motorcycle shop, Big St. Charles Motorsports with radio station 105.7 The Point.  Now that we are doing a much better job of maintaining our relationship (spending time doing fun things), I attend these events with him.

I truthfully don’t enjoy the contest because girls acting sexy and parading their stuff on stage just makes me sick.  Like the most important thing about them is what they look like?  Nope – not into that.  But I want to spend time with my hubby and I want to have fun – so I concentrate on the aspects of the event that I enjoy.  This event draws a large crowd, many who arrive on a HUGE variety of bikes.  I like to look at the bikes.  The guys look at them mainly from the point of view of power, engine, exhaust, and capability.  I look at them for beauty and uniqueness.

I also like to see such a wide variety of people gathering together for a common interest.  Here I see the preppy young college kids or young preppy couples mingling with the older crowd wearing leathers and more traditional motorcycle fashions.  I see couples with kids and sometimes even babies.  Then there’s the regular everyday people (like me, hubby, and our friend) mingling with the types of people I’ve already mentioned and the rough & tough gang looking motorcycle people (who I suspect are not really as tough as they look).

Last night there were a couple of stunt riders showing off.  Here is a video, and another video.

Here are some of my interesting captures from last night’s event.

Eilene Testing the Fit!
Eilene Testing the Fit!
View of Sport Bikes and Crowd
View of Sport Bikes and Crowd
Pretty Chopper
Pretty Chopper
Pretty Chopper
Pretty Chopper
View of Cruiser Bikes and Crowd
View of Cruiser Bikes and Crowd
View of Sport Bikes and Crowd
View of Sport Bikes and Crowd

Text

Leave a Reply

