Learning the Curves

Last weekend was track day, as stated in my Motorcycle Fun blog.  It has taken awhile to get a video put together of the ride.  I’m new to motorcycling and new to video editing, so hopefully this doesn’t make you motion sick!  I think the primary problem was taking video with a cell phone with nothing to support my arms and hands.  And that damn fence that gets in the way.

More important than the video, to me anyway, is what I’ve learned from the experience.  Number one, I have learned that I need to understand what I am doing in the curve (or overall) – not what I am NOT doing.  For example, I knew right away that I wasn’t getting the result coming out of the curve that I wanted.  I kept going wide and could not figure out how to fix it.  In hind sight and with a bit of help from hubby, I now know that I was entering the curve at the wrong point and missing the apex.  As the lead riders pulled far enough ahead of me it became more and more difficult for me to follow a good track through the curves.  With this knowledge, I have something to focus on for improvement.

Number two, I have learned that cheap video editing software makes video editing seem like a chore.  I don’t want to spend a ton of money on software and some of the software is quite expensive.  I’ve heard a lot of people say they like Sony Vegas.  But $400 – ouch.  For this video I started with Windows Live Movie Maker and switched to AVS Video Editor.  AVS was better, but still not great.  It was definitely a smaller price tag than Vegas!  If you have an inexpensive video editing software ($100ish is OK) to recommend, please leave me a comment.

Here’s that video.

Leave a Reply

